Google now Extends its Support to 13 More Languages

Google is adding 13 more languages to Gmail, thus lending its support for a total of 71 languages, the company announced on Monday. These 13 languages are making a grand entry into Gmail family: Afrikaans, Armenian, Azerbaijani (Azeri), Chinese (Hong Kong), French (Canada), Galician, Georgian, Khmer, Lao, Mongolian, Nepali, Sinhala, and Zulu. Google says:

Google adds 13 more languages to GmailAs any native speaker knows, each language has its own nuances, so we worked closely with linguists to make sure the tone and style are just right. For example, both Hong Kong and Taiwan use traditional Chinese characters. However, you’ll notice that Gmail’s new Chinese (Hong Kong) language uses 收件箱 for “Inbox” instead of 收件匣, which is a word more common in Taiwan.

This support applies to the web versions of Gmail, both on computers and mobile devices.

G-mail now covers 94 percent of the world’s internet population is making sure that, no matter what language you write in, you can use it in Gmail.

Google says

“Gmail is a universal way to communicate. No matter where you are, you can reach anyone else in the world with the press of a button. We take it for granted now, but it’s so much easier to keep in touch with people than it was in the old days of pens, paper, and stamps. But there’s still an important barrier we need to overcome to make email truly universal: language.”

Users can switch to any of these languages, no matter where they are. For example, if you’re trying to learn Chinese or want to brush up on your Canadian French, Gmail lets you, make the change.

To do so, go to the Settings option in Gmail and you can see this option under the “General” tab.